I-88 Speedway Race Report

by Steve Clapperton

I-88 Speedway recap for July 11, 2014

Boulder Oil Company Night

Modified Winner Brian Weaver
Brian Weaver wins the modified class on 07/11/2014

Sportsman Winner Charlie Hendrickson Jr.
Charlie Hendrickson Jr. wins in the Sportsman class on 07/11/2014

IMCA Modified Winner Gary Roberts
Gary Roberts wins in the IMCA class on 07/11/2014

Street Stock Winner Doug Polhamus
Doug Polhamus wins in the Street Stock class on 07/11/2014

4 cylinder Truck Winner Ralph Cuozzo Jr.
Ralph Cuozzo Jr. wins in the 4 cylinder truck class on 07/11/2014
Images © SJS Photo
Click on image for larger version.
Windsor's Brian Weaver took the lead from Paul Jensen on lap six and went on to become the tenth different Modified winner in as many races at I-88 Speedway on Friday night. Weaver started sixth in the 19 car starting field and by the second lap had moved into second place.

"It's a thrill to get back into victory lane….it took a long time to get here but I'm pretty happy to be here" said Weaver after the race.

"I thought I saw a shadow once, up on the outside of me. I wasn't really sure what to do with it, so I started moving around a little bit, kinda diamond the track out a little bit just in case I was slowing down a little bit" Weaver said in reference to a late race challenge from Edmeston's Paul Jensen who crossed the line second. Tim Currier of Auburn finished third with Deposit's Chad Cook fourth and Shaun Walker of Masonville fifth.

Charlie Hendrickson Jr. capitalized on his pole position start to lead every lap of the 20 lap Sportsmen feature. Hendrickson, of Bethel pulled away from the field, opening a half straightaway lead by the tenth lap.

"It's been a long time. It seems like forever. We've been slacking in the maintenance department but here we are" said Hendrickson in Victory lane.

Norwich's Harold Humphrey finished second with Brandon Walters of Sidney third, Norwich's Alan Barker fourth and Pat O'Hanlon of Delanson fifth.

In the Friesen Chevrolet IMCA Modified Empire Series race Gary Roberts of Nineveh took the lead at the drop of the green for the 25 lap event. Roberts pulled out to a half straightaway lead until a lap 9 caution for debris regrouped the field for a restart.

Roberts continued to control the lead on the restart as Mat Cole of Binghamton slipped into third, while Kurt Decker pulled to the outside and charged from sixth to second place in three laps. Decker, of Afton, would slow coming off turn four bringing out the second caution of the race.

A multicar tangle on lap 13 brought out the final caution of the race with Roberts leading, Will Ward of Cobleskill running second and Willet's Nick Griest holding down third in his first start of the season at I-88 Speedway.

When the race resumed Roberts pulled away from the pack while twelfth starting James Cornell of Harpursville began to make a move to the front. On lap 16 Ward relinquished second as he pulled into the infield with mechanical issues handing second to Griest.

On lap 22 Cornell slipped under Griest in turn two to take over second and began to reel in Roberts, but ran out of laps as Roberts took the win by four car lengths. Cornell finished second with Griest third, Cole fourth and Union Springs's Chris Fleming fifth.

"I'm glad our luck finally turned. We didn't have a monkey on our back, we had a gorilla" said Roberts after the race.

"Car was terrible in the heat race, it's been terrible the last few weeks. But….took the back end apart and found a bend slider was bound up was holding the left rear on the car up." Roberts said after winning his second Empire Series race at the speedway.

Windsor's Doug Polhamus extended his point lead in the Street Stock division taking his fifth feature win of the season. Polhamus took the lead from Edmeston's Jim Gould on lap three and held off Brenton Miller of Athens, PA to take the win. Windsor's Matt Bowman finished third with Dustin Harris of Unadilla fourth and Nineveh's Matt Roberts fifth.

"We had to replace the whole center section" Polhamus said in reference to the rear end. "We were strapped or time this week. We threw the set up into the car Thursday afternoon and it responded amazingly. I felt it in the heat."

Ralph Cuozzo Jr. extended his Empire Sport Truck point lead in taking his fourth win of the season. Cuozzo, of Unadilla, started fifth and took the lead from Sidney's Brandon Clapperton on the tenth lap. Clapperton finished second with Unadilla's Bob Crandall third, Pat Votra of Marathon fourth and Wayne Van Dusen Jr. of Marathon fifth.

Friday, July 11, 2014 Racing -- Boulder Oil Company Night -- Results

Greg Page Construction Modifieds (30 Laps):

Brian Weaver, Paul Jensen, Tim Currier, Chad Cook, Shaun Walker, Mike Clapperton, Darwin Greene, Brett Tonkin, Brad Alger, Mitch Gibbs, Nick Nye, J.R. Hurlburt, Jeff Leslie, Bob Hamm, Tyler Siri, Dana Wagner, Mike Mahaney, John Siedlecky, Alex Tonkin

Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen (20 Laps):

Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Harold Humphrey, Brandon Walters, Alan Barker, Pat O’Hanlon, Kevin Coons, Claude Hutchings Jr., Travis Smith, Aaron Shelton, Butch Klinger, Dwayne Jackson, Skip Pickwick, Gary Card Jr.

Friesen Chevrolet Empire State Series Race IMCA Modifieds (25 Laps):

Gary Roberts, James Cornell, Nick Griest, Matt Cole, Chris Fleming, Keith Lamphere, Craig Ward, Bump Scutt, Dan Burman, Mike Stoddard, Beau Ballard, Mike Butler, Bobby Collins, Bill Ward, Brian Mills, Curt Stiles, KC Cole, Gary Smith, Will Ward, Kurt Decker DNS Tyler Stoddard

Olum’s Street Stocks (20 Laps):

Doug Polhamus, Brenton Miller, Matt Bowman, Dustin Harris, Matt Roberts, Tom Savercool, Eric Boynton, James Gould, Paul Harrington, Dave Cronk, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Lloyd Washburn, Fred Christ, Steve Polhamus, Chris Donaldson, Dave Buren Sr., DNS Larry Truax

McDonald’s Empire Sport Trucks (15 Laps):

Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Brandon Clapperton, Bob Crandall, Pat Votra, Wayne Van Dusen Jr., Dustin Wilber, Chris Sherman, Damon Decker, Allan Hodge, Erik Wagner DNS: Rick Wagner