I-88 Speedway Race Report

by Steve Clapperton

I-88 Speedway recap for July 4, 2014

Olum's Night Night

Modified Winner Ryan Jordan
Ryan Jordan wins the modified class on 07/04/2014

Sportsman Winner Travis Smith
Travis Smith wins in the Sportsman class on 07/04/2014

IMCA Modified Winner Beau Ballard
Beau Ballard wins in the IMCA class on 07/04/2014

Street Stock Winner Matt Roberts
Matt Roberts wins in the Street Stock class on 07/04/2014

4 cylinder Truck Winner Rick Wagner
Rick Wagner wins in the 4 cylinder truck class on 07/04/2014

CRSA Sprints Winner Mike Kiser
Mike Kiser wins in the CRSA Sprints class on 07/04/2014
Images © SJS Photo
Click on image for larger version.
Ryan Jordan of Dryden picked up his first career win in a Modified on the Fourth of July at I-88 Speedway. Jordan, making his first start of the year at the track, started tenth in the 27 car field taking over the lead on lap 13 when Susquehanna PA's Darwin Greene slowed on the backstretch.

"I was nervous. We had hard tires on tonight because our only soft tires are for tomorrow. We come down to play tonight, just to have a little fun. Never in a million years did I expect to be down here in victory lane" said Jordan after becoming the ninth different winner in as many races at the track.

Mike Ricci of Rosendale, an Accord Speedway regular, made the haul to I-88 Speedway and finished a strong second after rain forced the cancelation of the program at Accord. Ricci started 17th and rode the outside line around the track to the runner up finish. Trout Creek's Dana Wagner finished third with Shaun Walker of Masonville fourth and Andy Bachetti, another Accord Speedway competitor, made the trip from Sheffield MA to finish fifth.

Travis Smith took the lead from Bethel's Charlie Hendrickson Jr. on lap 6 and went on to take his first I-88 Speedway Sportsmen win. Smith, from Harpursville, held off current point leader Alan Barker over the final 7 laps of the race.

"We've been taking a lot of shots at this. We've been so close so many times, fourths, seconds, thirds. Finally we put one together. It felt good…a lotta fun" said Smith in a post-race interview.

Walton's Butch Klinger finished third with Harpursville's Gary Card Jr. fourth and Kevin Coons of Walton fifth.

Matt Roberts of Harpursville started sixth in the 20 lap Street Stock feature and took the lead from Deposit's Fred Christ on lap 8 before cruising to his second win of the season.

"Been struggling a little bit here…it's been one of our slower tracks. We'd hit it once and it went away a little bit. We found it again tonight, apparently" said Roberts.

Matt Bowman of Windsor finished second with Christ third, Dustin Harris of Unadilla fourth and Lakewood's Tom Savercool fifth.

Beau Ballard started on the pole for the 20 Lap IMCA Modified feature and led every lap in taking is first sanctioned feature win at the speedway.

"Oh boy. It's been a long time" said the Grand Gorge competitor in Victory Lane. "We fought this car all last year and we've finally got in dialed in here in the last couple of weeks."

Will Ward of Cobleskill finished second with Afton's Kurt Decker third, Nineveh's Gary Roberts fourth and Matt Cole of Binghamton fifth.

Rick Wagner of Afton passed Brandon Clapperton on lap 13 to take his first Empire Sport Truck feature win of the season. Erik Wagner of Afton finished second with Sidney's Clapperton third, Ralph Cuozzo Jr of Unadilla fourth and Bob Crandall, also from Unadilla fifth.

Cooperstown's Mike Kiser took the 25 lap CRSA Sprint car win over Joe Kata of Goshen, Danny Varin of Johnstown, Middletown's Scott Goodrich and Milford PA's John Matrafailo.

Friday, July 4, 2014 Racing -- Olum's Night - Results

Greg Page Construction Modifieds (30 Laps):

Ryan Jordan, Mike Ricci, Dana Wagner, Shaun Walker, Andy Bachetti, Brett Tonkin, Tim Currier, Mitch Gibbs, Dan Creeden, Mike Mahaney, Brad Alger, Paul Jensen, Jeff Leslie, Chad Cook, Bob Hamm, Rob Rowe, Tyler Siri, Mike Clapperton, Sam Allen, Brian Weaver, Nick Nye, Darwin Greene, J.R. Hurlburt, Darren Schuler, Rich Ricci Jr., Steve Cummings, John Siedlecky

Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen (20 Laps):

Travis Smith, Alan Barker, Butch Klinger, Gary Card Jr., Kevin Coons, Brad Szulewski, Randy Green, Harold Humphrey, Skip Pickwick, Rich Ricci III, Scot Conover, Duane Knapp, Tom Tophoven, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Marshall Balzer, Pat O’Hanlon, Dwayne Jackson, Brandon Walters, DNS Aaron Shelton

Vernooy’s Automotive Excellence IMCA Modifieds (20 Laps):

Beau Ballard, Will Ward, Kurt Decker, Gary Roberts, Matt Cole, James Cornell, Tyler Stoddard, KC Cole, Tim Vandemark, Gary Smith, Brian Mills, Mike Butler, Bill Ward, Bobby Collins, Dan Burman, Mike Stoddard

Olum’s Street Stocks Midseason Championship (25 Laps):

Matt Roberts, Matt Bowman, Fred Christ, Dustin Harris, Tom Savercool, Steve Polhamus, Brenton Miller, Doug Polhamus, Larry Truax, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Toby Lehr, Dave Van Buren, Jim Gould, Bob Mills, Paul Harrington, Chris Donaldson

McDonald’s 4 Cyliner Trucks (15 Laps):

Rick Wagner, Erik Wagner, Brandon Clapperton, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Bob Crandall, Wayne Van Dusen Jr., Chris Sherman, Bill Cooper, Allan Hodge, Dustin Wilber

CRSA Sprints (25 Laps):

Mike Kiser, Joe Kata, Danny Varin, Scott Goodrich, John Matrafailo, Dalton Herrick, Dustin Purdy, Jordan Thomas, Emily VanInwegen, Jamie Kiser, Brittany Tresch, Warren Alexson, Josh Pieniazek, Tyler Chartrand, Jeff Van Dusen, Thomas Radivoy