I-88 Speedway Race Report

by Steve Clapperton

I-88 Speedway recap for June 27, 2014

New York Stock Car Association (NYSSCA) Night

Modified Winner J.R. Hurlburt
J.R. Hurlburt wins the modified class on 06/27/2014

Sportsman Winner Dwayne Jackson
Dwayne Jackson wins in the Sportsman class on 06/27/2014

IMCA Modified Winner Gary Smith
Gary Smith wins in the IMCA class on 06/27/2014

Street Stock Winner Doug Polhamus
Doug Polhamus wins in the Street Stock class on 06/27/2014

4 cylinder Truck Winner Pat Votra
Pat Votra wins in the 4 cylinder truck class on 06/27/2014
Images © SJS Photo
Click on image for larger version.
J.R. Hurlburt of Otego became the eighth different winner in as many races in the Greg Page Construction Modifieds at I-88 Speedway on Friday night. At the start of the race Norwich's Mitch Gibbs, Dana Wagner and Susquehana PA's Darwin Greene were involved in a tangle on the backstretch ending Greene's night. When the race restarted pole sitter John Siedlecky took the early lead. Wagner, of Masonville and Gibbs went to the back of the pack for the restart.

Pole sitter John Siedlecky of Windsor took the lead when the race restarted and by lap 2 third starting Tim Currier of Auburn was running second and Hurlburt had moved into third place.

By lap 16 Siedlecky had opened a five car length lead over second place Currier but as the race wore on Hurlburt began to reel in the top two cars, slipping under Currier on lap 18 coming off turn four to take over second place.

Three laps later Hurlburt drove under Siedlecky coming off turn two to take the lead with Alger taking over second one lap later.

A caution on lap 22 would bunch the field for a restart with Hurlburt leading and Alger running second. Alger was unable to make the pass for the win giving Hurlburt his first win of the season. Alger finished second with Carbondale PA's Brett Tonkin making a late race charge to third. Tyler Siri of Horseheads crossed the line fourth with King Ferry's Mike Mahaney finishing fifth.

"We've been struggling all year. We needed that real bad. That caution at the end there, lap 22, I was getting a little nervous. I didn't need that. We went green again and the car started skipping coming out of the corners, we had a little trouble during the heat races with carburation. I figured it was going to do us in" said Hurlburt.

"That caution really hurt us. Car was going well up until then. I think if we could have run the last seven laps I think we could have got him" said runner up Alger.

Dwayne Jackson of Edmeston started on the pole and cruised to his first career win in the 25 lap Sportsmen Championship feature. Jackson had opened a full straightaway lead by lap ten and was unchallenged until encountering lapped traffic with five laps remaining in the race. Delanson's Pat O'Hanlon started fifth and finished second with Butch Klinger of Walton third, Harpursville's Travis Smith fourth and Alan Barker of Norwich crossing the line fifth.

"I seen lap twenty and as far as I'm concerned we've won. Let's go home." Said the Edmeston driver. "It was a good surface to race on. I'm happy. We finally got the 82 in victory lane" said Jackson in a post-race interview.

"He was hooked up. We were off a hair." Said second place finisher Pat O'Hanlon.

Windsor's Doug Polhamus grabbed his fourth Olum's Street Stock feature win on Friday night. Steve Polhamus took the lead at the start of the 20 lap event only to relinquish the top spot one lap later to Windsor's Matt Bowman. Bowman held the lead until lap nine when he lost a wheel in turn three bringing out the caution as he came to a stop next to the wall handing the lead to Doug Polhamus.

With Polhamus out front, third running Matt Roberts of Nineveh began to pressure second place Brenton Miller, swapping the position through the middle portion of the race. Miller, of Athens PA took control of the position on lap 11 as the top two cars opened a half straightaway advantage over third place Roberts.

At the line it was Doug Polhamus taking his fourth win of the season with Miller second, Roberts third, Oneonta's Dustin Harris fourth and Lockwood's Tom Savercool fifth.

"This one goes to my dad. He made the call to not change the car from what we set up through the week" said Polhamus in Victory Lane.

"The car would go on both, the high side or the bottom. He obviously wanted the bottom so we tried to run the top and we'd gain some ground but then I'd miss it just wrong and he'd gain it back" said second place Brenton Miller after the race.

Kattelville's Mike Stoddard took the lead at the start of the 20 lap IMCA Modified feature from the outside front row starting position. Third starting Gary Smith slipped under the leader coming off turn two on the second lap to take over the lead.

A multicar tangle on the third lap brought out the caution with Stoddard among the drivers caught in the incident. When the race restarted Smith was leading with Afton's Kurt Decker running second and Tyler Stoddard of Kattelville third.

On lap five Stoddard moved past Decker to take over second and one lap later Decker would relinquish third to Harpursville's James Cornell.

Smith opened a large lead as he picked up his second win of the season. Stoddard finished second with Cornell third, Decker fourth and Binghamton's Matt Cole fifth.

"I come in after that heat and I was ready to load it" Smith said of his car. "Everybody said nah, let's just work on it and get it going and the car was super."

"I just left the setup in it from last week at Skyline and it really hooked up early….maybe I found something" said Stoddard after the race.

In the 15 lap Empire Sport Truck feature Pat Votra of Marathon out dueled Unadilla's Ralph Cuozzo Jr. to take his second consecutive feature win at the track.

"These four cylinder rear wheel drives, they are a blast" said Votra after the race. "It's a rush, they are racy."

"I was hoping to get a win again, but Pat's truck is pretty fast and it handles real good" said Cuozzo.

Friday, June 27, 2014 Racing -- New York Stock Car Association (NYSSCA) Night -- Results

Greg Page Construction Modifieds (30 Laps):

J.R. Hurlburt, Brad Alger, Brett Tonkin, Tyler Siri, Mike Mahaney, Chad Cook, John Siedlecky, Mike Clapperton, Brian Weaver, Shaun Walker, Tim Currier, Jeff Leslie, Bob Hamm, Mitch Gibbs, Paul Jensen, Dana Wagner, Sam Allen, Nick Nye, Darwin Greene, DNS Ryan Jordan

Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen Championship Night (25 Laps):

Dwayne Jackson, Pat O’Hanlon, Butch Klinger, Travis Smith, Alan Barker, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Kevin Coons, Brandon Walters, Harold Humphrey, Skip Pickwick, Aaron Shelton, Gary Card Jr., Duane Knapp, Dave Smith

Vernooy’s Automotive Excellence IMCA Modifieds (20 Laps):

Gary Smith, Tyler Stoddard, James Cornell, Kurt Decker, Matt Cole, Jared Spaulding, Jake Maynard, Tim Vandemark, Mike Stoddard, Beau Ballard, Mike Butler, Bill Ward, Brian Mills, Brian Steigerwald, Gary Roberts, Will Ward, Bobby Collins

Olum’s Street Stocks (20 Laps):

Doug Polhamus, Brenton Miller, Matt Roberts, Dustin Harris, Tom Savercool, Paul Harrington, Steve Polhamus, James Gould, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Lloyd Washburn, Dave Cronk, Larry Truax, Fred Christ, Chris Donaldson, Matt Bowman

McDonald’s Empire Sport Trucks (20 Laps):

Pat Votra, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Bob Crandalll, Wayne Van Dusen Jr., Erik Wagner, Allan Hodge, John Sullivan Jr., Tom Akshar, Chris Sherman, Bill Cooper, Brandon Clapperton, Rick Wagner, Dustin Wilber, Damon Decker, Pete Christiansen