I-88 Speedway Race Report

by Steve Clapperton

I-88 Speedway recap for May 9, 2014

Gary's U Pull It Night

Gary's U Pull It Night Winners at I-88 Speedway 05/09/2014
Gary's U Pull It Night Winners at I-88 Speedway

CRSA Sprint Winner Scott Goodrich - 05/09/2014
CRSA Sprint Winner Scott Goodrich

Images ©
SJS Photo
Click on image for larger version.
The Capital Region Sprint Association (CRSA) rolled into I-88 Speedway with 20 of the Racesaver 305 sprint teams on Friday night. Polesitter Brittany Tresch took the lead from the pole at the start of the 25 lap event and by lap five had opened a five car length advantage over second running Bill Jaycox of Middleburg.

By lap nine the leaders encountered heavy lapped traffic as Scott Goodrich slipped past Jaycox to take over second place. Goodrich, from Middletown, began to catch Tresch in the lapped traffic.

On lap 14 Goodrich drove under Tresch and went on to take the win in the caution free event. Danny Varin of Johnstown crossed the line second with Tresch third, Jaycox fourth and Delhi's Dustin Purdy fifth.

Masonville's Shaun Walker picked up his first Greg Page Construction Modified win of the season in a race which got off to a slow start. A multicar pile up in turn four resulted in Guilford's Arnie Slade and Russ Zimmerman of Dalton PA getting off the ground with Slade's car nearly going end over end. Neither car went over and both drivers were okay. Trout Creek's Dana Wagner's ride sustained heavy damage and was unable to continue the race. John Siedlecky of Windsor and Susquehanna PA's Darwin Greene were also unable to finish the event due to damage suffered in the melee.

When the race restarted Walker took the lead with Tim Mayne of Edmeston running second. A lap three caution for a slowing Sam Allen regrouped the field for a restart and Norwich's Mitch Gibbs took advantage of the opportunity to move past Mayne and take over second.

Mayne's night would come to an end one lap later as he slowed coming of turn two and collected Tim Currier of Auburn ending Currier's night. The race restarted with Walker leading, Gibbs running second, Deposit's Chad Cook third, Brad Alger of Oneonta fourth and defending Modified track champion Mike Mahaney of King Ferry fifth.

Mahaney passed Alger on the restart to move into fourth while Walker pulled away from the field and by the halfway point had opened a half straightaway lead over Gibbs. Walker's lead would be cut as he came into lapped traffic with eight laps remaining.

Cook used the traffic to his advantage to pass Gibbs for second with two laps remaining. At the finish it was Walker taking the win over Cook, Gibbs, Mahaney and Alger.

Unadilla's Brandon Walters had a night to remember in the Chambers and O'Hara Sportsmen division. After taking a ride through a large infield mud hole in the heat race making his car temporarily unrecognizable and then hitting the front stretch wall at the start of the 20 lap feature Walters's night could only get better. After contacting the wall, Walters pitted and after determining the car was okay he rejoined the field at the back of the pack.

Travis Smith of Harpursville took the lead on the restart after the caution came out for Walters's spin. By lap six Smith had opened a half straightaway lead over Walton's Butch Klinger. Smith's lead disappeared when the caution came out on lap 8 when Skip Pickwick of Afton stopped in turn four.

When the race restarted, Smith was the leader with Klinger second, Bill Spoonhower of Berkshire third and Walter had charged his way to fourth. Walters drove under both Spoonhower and Klinger to take over second while two time feature winner Alan Barker of Norwich moved into fourth.

On the tenth lap Walters took the lead coming off turn two while Barker moved into third. With five laps remaining Barker used an outside line to take over second. Barker was unable to reel in the leader as Walters crossed the line first with Barker second, Smith third, Klinger fourth and Bethel's Charlie Hendrickson Jr. fifth.

Paul Harrington took the lead at the start of the 20 lap Olum's Street Stock feature from the pole starting position. Fifth starting Brenton Miller of Athens PA slipped to the inside and pulled into second place. On lap five Miller took an outside run on the leader coming off turn two and grabbed the lead with Matt Roberts of Nineveh close behind.

Miller went on to take the win with Roberts finishing second, two time winner Doug Polhamus of Windsor third, Unadilla's Dustin Harr fourth and Harrington fifth.

Unadilla's Ralph Cuozzo Jr. made it two in a row in the Empire Sport Trucks 15 lap feature passing early race leader Brandon Clapperton of Sidney on lap 8. Erik Wagner of Afton finished second with Clapperton third, Afton's Rick Wagner fourth and Allan Hodge of Sherburne fifth.

Friday, May 9, 2014 Racing -- Gary's U Pull It Night - Results

Greg Page Construction Modifieds (30 Laps):

Shaun Walker, Chad Cook, Mitch Gibbs, Mike Mahaney, Brad Alger, Paul Jensen, J.R. Hurlburt, Bob Hamm, Nick Nye, Jeff Leslie, Brett Tonkin, Steve Cummings, Tim Mayne, Tim Currier, Sam Allen, Brian Weaver, Marcus Dinkins, Darwin Greene, John Siedlecky, Russ Zimmerman, Arnie Slade, Dana Wagner DQ Billy VanInwegen (Light)

CRSA Sprints (25 Laps):

Scott Goodrich, Danny Varin, Brittany Tresch, Bill Jaycox, Dustin Purdy, Kyle Smith, John Matrafailo, Jeremy Quick, Brett Jaycox, Dalton Herrick, Mike Kiser, Art Kiser, Jeff Van Steenburg, Jordan Thomas, Chuck Alessi, Emily VanInwegen, Joe Kata, Jon Preston, Warren Alexson, Josh Pieniazek

Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen (20 Laps):

Brandon Walters, Alan Barker, Travis Smith, Butch Klinger, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Kevin Coons, Bill Spoonhower, Gary Card Jr., Cory Pike, Aaron Shelton, Dwayne Jackson, Skip Pickwick, Pat O’Hanlon

Olum’s Street Stocks (20 Laps):

Brenton Miller, Matt Roberts, Doug Polhamus, Dustin Harris, Paul Harrington, Tom Savercool, Dave Cronk, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Steve Polhamus, Jim Gould DNS: Eric Boynton

McDonald’s 4 Cylinder Trucks (15 Laps):

Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Erik Wagner, Brandon Clapperton, Rick Wagner, Allan Hodge, Chris Sherman, Bill Cooper, Bob Crandall, Todd Stanton, Dustin Wilber, Wayne Van Dusen Jr