I-88 Speedway Race Report

by Steve Clapperton

I-88 Speedway recap for May 2, 2014

Chambers & O'Hara Night

Chamabers & O'Hara Night Winners at I-88 Speedway 05/02/2014
Chambers & O'Hara Night winners at I-88 Speedway

Images © SJS Photo
Click on image for larger version.
Tim Currier of Auburn held off Southern Tier veterans Brian Weaver and Mitch Gibbs to take his first Greg Page Construction Modified feature win at I-88 Speedway on Friday night. Currier took the lead from the pole at the start of the 30 lap event with second starting Weaver following close behind in second. Weaver, of Conklin, used the outside line during the early laps to pressure the leader with Gibbs maintaining a low line around the speedway in third.

On lap six Gibbs, of Norwich, slipped under Weaver for second before the caution came out after Bob Hamm stopped on the backstretch with front end damage. When the race was restarted Currier continued to lead with Gibbs second, Weaver third, defending Modified track champion Mike Mahaney fourth and Tyler Siri in fifth. By lap eleven Weaver had regained second place.

At the halfway point the caution came out after Dana Wagner got caught in an incident on the front stretch that put him in the wall. The race was restarted and Currier continued to hold on off Weaver in taking his second career I-88 Speedway Modified win. Weaver was second with Gibbs third, Mahaney of King Ferry fourth and Horseheads' Siri fifth.

Alan Barker of Norwich won his second consecutive Chambers and O'Hara Sportsmen feature after original race winner Charlie Hendrickson Jr. was disqualified after a post-race technical inspection. Wallkill's Randy Green took the lead at the start of the 20 lap event with third starting Hendrickson of Bethel in second. Hendrickson pressured Green before taking over the lead coming off turn four on the fifth lap.

With Hendrickson opening a half straightaway lead, eighth starting Alan Barker was working his way to the front and by the halfway point was battling with Green for second. The caution came out on lap 14 when Walton's Aaron Shelton hit an implement tire in turn four and came to a stop on the inside of the front stretch. When the race restarted Hendrickson again jumped out to a big lead while Barker passed Green on lap 17 for second coming off turn four.

At the line it was Hendrickson taking the checkers followed by Barker and Green. Berkshire's Bill Spoonhower, Brandon Walters of Unadilla and Travis Smith of Harpursville completed the top five. Hendrickson was disqualified after a post-inspection of his carburetor.

Gary Smith took the lead at the start of the 20 lap Vernooy's Automotive Excellence IMCA Modified feature from the outside front row. After two cautions on lap three Smith continued to lead when the race restarted with Will Ward in second, Matt Cole of Binghamton in third, Gary Roberts fourth and James Cornell fifth. Cornell, of Harpursville, took to the outside line and moved into third place while Smith opened half straightaway lead by lap six. By lap seven Cornell had pulled into second place.

The caution came out on lap 12 when Bill Ward stopped coming off turn four. On the restart Cornell continued to use the high side through turns one and two when he made contact with the leader as they went down the backstretch. The contact resulted in a piece of sheet metal flying off Cornell's car bringing out the caution.

When the race restarted Cornell again got a run on Smith and took over the top spot. With Cornell now leading, Smith running second and opening night winner Roberts of Nineveh running third the caution came out on lap 18. While under caution Smith's engine went up in smoke setting up a two lap race for the win between Cornell and Roberts.

The race restarted with Cornell protecting the bottom line around the track and held off Roberts to take the win. Cole finished third with Will Ward of Cobleskill fourth and Keith Lamphere of Monroeton PA fifth.

Doug Polhamus of Windsor made it two in a row in Olum's Street Stock division. Polhamus started third in the thirteen car starting field. At the drop of starter Raymond Kennerup's green flag Polhamus pulled to the inside of pole sitter Steve Polhamus while third starting Matt Roberts took to the outside line putting the top three cars three wide coming off turn two. Roberts, of Nineveh, went high in turn three putting Doug Polhamus in the lead for the first lap.

With Polhamus leading and Roberts running second, Edmeston's Jim Gould had moved past Steve Polhamus into third place from his fifth starting spot.

At the halfway point Polhamus led Roberts by half a straightaway while a three car battle for third developed between Gould, Brenton Miller and Dustin Harris.

The first caution of the race came on lap twelve when Fred Christ of Deposit came to a stop on the front stretch. When the race restarted Polhamus continued to lead with Roberts running second. Before the finish both Harris of Unadilla and Miller were able to pass Gould. At the line it was Polhamus taking the win with Roberts second, Harris third, Miller of Athens PA fourth and Gould fifth.

Unadilla's Ralph Cuozzo Jr. passed early race leader Allan Hodge of Sherburne on lap three and went on to take the Empire Sport Truck feature win by a full straightaway over Erik Wagner of Afton. Hodge finished third with Chris Sherman of Afton fourth and Wayne Van Dusen Jr. of Norwich fifth.

Kyle Pierce of Spencer won the inaugural SRP Sprint feature over Cliff Pierce, also of Spencer, Chaz Ford of Binghamton and Alan Lockwood of Afton.

Friday, May 2, 2014 Racing -- Chambers & O'Hara Night - Results

Greg Page Construction Modifieds (30 Laps):

Tim Currier, Brian Weaver, Mitch Gibbs, Mike Mahaney, Tyler Siri, Arnie Slade, Rusty Smith, Brett Tonkin, Paul Jensen, Jeff Leslie, Brad Alger, Russ Zimmerman, Nick Nye, John Siedlecky, Rob Barker, J.R. Hurlburt, Sam Allen, Darwin Greene, Dana Wagner, Marcus Dinkins, Tim Mayne, Bob Hamm, Shaun Walker, Chad Cook

Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen (20 Laps):

Alan Barker, Randy Green, Bill Spoonhower, Brandon Walters, Travis Smith, Butch Klinger, Pat O’Hanlon, Cory Pike, Kevin Coons, Jerry Tonti, Mike Austin, Dwayne Jackson, Gary Card Jr., Tom Tophoven, Duane Knapp, Lenny Miller, Aaron Shelton, Tyler Ward, Skip Pickwick DQ Charlie Hendrickson Jr. (Carburetor failed go/no go gauge) DQ Jake Fowlston (Post race officials decision)

Vernooy’s Automotive Excellence IMCA Modifieds (20 Laps):

James Cornell, Gary Roberts, Matt Cole, Will Ward, Keith Lamphere, Mike Wilmot, Tyler Stoddard, Rob Compton, Brian Mills, Mike Stoddard, Brian Steigerwald, Tim Vandemark, Gary Smith, Bill Ward, Brian Russell, Bobby Collins, Rich Green, Dan Krajewski DNS Jared Spalding, DNS Brendon Sheppard

Olum’s Street Stocks (20 Laps):

Doug Polhamus, Matt Roberts, Dustin Harris, Brenton Miller, Jim Gould, Paul Harrington, Steve Polhamus, Tom Savercool, Dave Cronk, Bob Maynard, Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Larry Truax, Fred Christ DNS Dave Van Buren Jr.

McDonald’s 4 Cylinder Trucks (15 Laps):

Ralph Cuozzo Jr., Erik Wagner, Allan Hodge, Chris Sherman, Wayne Van Dusen Jr., Dustin Wilber, Bob Crandall, Todd Stanton, Brandon Clapperton, Bill Cooper, Rick Wagner DNS Mike Springstead.

SRP Sprints (15 Laps):

Kyle Pierce, Cliff Pierce, Chaz Ford, Alan Lockwood DNS Jordan Jaindl, Jim Clapper